Naya Saal Mubarak

The usual bombarding of holiday cheer. Wishing you a happy new year. May all your wishes come true this year. Ek saal badalne se agar wish puri hoti to 35 nahin to 30 me kuch to puri ho he gayee hoti. Feel free to throw up on me!

The past few years I made such a big deal about New Year’s Eve. On very rare occasions, I am embarrassed by the maelstrom of thoughts in my head to admit them. But wow! Think the most juvenile thoughts multiply them by a hundred and Viola! You will  catch a glimpse of a fleeting thought dashing through my mind.

This year, I did exactly what I have been doing for the past few years but without the angst. Reread a few pages of a fabulous book, ‘The Road Less Travelled’ and slept before midnight. Slept feeling the same and woke up exactly as I was. Nothing changed except a date on the calendar.

Since only the written word is entertaining me these days, here are a few interesting quotes about New Year’s. Read them to understand why no one forwards such sayings.

“Aik aur einth gir gai deewar e hayaat se. Nadaan keh rahe hain Naya Saal Mubarak.” Farooq Shah.

“We incessantly vacillate between what’s behind us and what’s before us depending on the current barometer of our courage and the ambivalent nature of our vision.” Craig D Lounsbrough.

My turn. “May we all have the courage to struggle with our own prejudices this year. The foresight to be patient about the things that require time and the strength to change what needs effort. May we learn to understand ourselves better, forgive others and most of all  ourselves. May we help those who are less  fortunate than us. May we finally get it right this year and accept the responsibility of our own happiness, as well as the responsibility of our own kind.”

Nadaan O Hamaari Taraf Se Bhi Naya Saal Mubarak. Feel free to throw up on me;)

Leave a Reply

